Posted by: orquideablanca | October 5, 2008

Change


Picture by Tim O’Bryan.
 
I wrote this note last year. I was working as the office manager at a CPA firm, in the technology department. I hope it refreshes your spirit!

Today I moved to my new office. For months I had been working at a nice cubicle until today. Even though I like my old cubicle, I really like my new office space. It offers privacy, a little more space, a view of downtown Miami. I have installed a white erase board, ordered colored markers for creating my daily To Do lists. I put all my binders in order and within easy reach, for better organizing my projects. This morning everything felt different; fresh. I am enthusiastic about my tasks this week. I have organized my schedule and mapped it in my new white erase board. My desk is paperless, except for the documents that I’m working on; all other documents are just waiting to be scanned and put away. My title is the same; my job is that same as last week. I have the same responsibilities and tasks. But somehow, with my new space, I feel empowered to take everything to the next level.

Next time you feel you’ve hit a wall, a dead end, or a dull moment in life, try changing something. Move furniture around your home or office. Buy a plant. Change shampoo and toothpaste brands. Paint your room. Sleep on the other side of the bed. Do something special for someone. One small change can provoke a much needed revolution of the soul.

Because of the LORD’s great love we are not consumed,
for his compassions never fail.
They are new every morning;
great is your faithfulness.
Lamentations 3:22-23

Leave a Reply

Categories

